11 June, 2008

Girls and Their Balls

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:50 pm by breathingbullets

I’ve never been a huge sports person.  I haven’t even been a little sports person.  They were just the things that guys found more relevant than their relationships and had mild heart attacks over.  (How sexist is that?)  But then…in this year of new experiences, I have found that they’re not testosterone-filled pummeling sessions.  It’s intricate and stressful; the game
requires real talent, foresight, and skill.

I’m going to hold steadfast to the belief that they should not be making that much money for something that’s so…recreational.  I don’t believe actors and singers should be making that much either, but…Hell, what do I know?  I’m just a pretty average person that will never be an athletic champion or a glamorous (see: borderline anorexic,coke-loving alcoholic) movie star.

Anyway, it was the first time I sat and watched an NBA game, and it was one of the most amazing physical things I had ever seen. There really wasn’t any rest until the last five seconds of the game.  And at first it was, like, “Why does everyone in yellow suck ‘cept for that one guy?” Then I found out that ‘one guy’ was Kobe Bryant, and dude, the guy is a machine. I can understand why his name was everywhere.  Or…maybe it still is.  I saw some clips of his wife during half-time.  she is drop-dead gorgeous.  I can’t grasp his desire to cheat on her and risk losing her, but I suppose that question settled in the dust with the whole
rape scandal.

I do plan on watching another game if I stumble across it while channel surfing.  I’m really not a dedicated fan–and I don’t have designs for becoming one.  It’s just–the only reason I sat down and watched it was because my step-father was. My mother is definitely not a sports person.  And she hates them even more now ’cause her husband will skip family outings to watch his games.  But I wonder if I would have ever come to watch, and enjoy, the sport without male influence. And I kind of wonder what other things I missed out on learning to enjoy as a ‘fatherless’ child.  I’m still not entirely sure of a father’s purpose in a child’s life.
But yay! Go Lakers~!
~*~ C.K.

Leave a Reply

